The Victory of the LSW Debate Team


Maryam Ali, Writer

On Saturday Dec. 8, the Lincoln Southwest debate team won the Millard West Debate Tournament.


In novice Congress, freshman Spencer Krenk took first place and freshman Kiet Duong took fifth place in house one. 


While in house, freshman Rawan Al-Ajeel took third place and sophomore Aiden Christensen sixth place speaker and first as a Presiding Officer. 


“I think it was really interesting as we had one less judge than normal,” sophomore Jack Anderson said “Everyone did really well. Our session had some really good speakers so I was very excited when I heard that I won as it was the first time that I got first place this year.”


In Varsity Congress Anderson took first place speaker, junior Ellie Weeks fourth place speaker, and junior Louis Quattrocchi sixth place speaker in house one. 


In house two, sophomore Adam Khattak took second place speaker and senior Eli Morales took fourth place.  


“Speaking wise, I did alright.  I was motivated by [sophomore] Kai [Sasaki], who said, ‘You’ll never win,’” Khattak said. “Over the week, I got really dedicated to writing speeches just to prove him wrong. I bet that I would buy him dinner if I didn’t place.”  


In novice Lincoln-Douglas, freshman Vittoria Quaranta was a quarterfinalist


Sophomore Richard Nguyen and junior Britton Teply were also quarter finalists in varsity Lincoln-Douglas. Teply was also the top speaker at his event in the tournament.


Sasaki and sophomore Mohamed Bakr were semi finalists in the novice Public Forum. Sasaki was also the sixth speaker.



In the varsity Public Forum seniors Loc Nguyen and Anton Angeletti were runners-up. Juniors Molly O’Brien and Cameron Coen were semifinalists. Nguyen was also the top speaker at varsity Public Forum at the tournament .